Suscc Library: Humanities 101: Visual Arts

Picture Source: http://www.csdspartans.org/the_arts/visual_arts

Arts & Architecture Video Collection Database

Arts & Architecture Video Collection Link Below:

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Art of history: Preserving African American dioramas Video Link

Art of history: Preserving African American dioramas

Databases on Art

The databases below can be found on the Alabama Virtual Library:

https://www.avl.lib.al.us/resources/college-university

MasterFile Premier:
- This database provides access to an image collection of over 502,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts:
- This database provides access to over 10 million articles and over 250 journals.

Flipster's Art Magazines

Flipster

Login Credentials:

Username: suscclrc

password: biSon@1922

Each month, Art in America, the world's premier art magazine, delivers in-depth coverage of the global contemporary art scene, both in print and online. Published 11 times per year, every issue contains profiles on respected and rising talents, critical essays, and reviews of current exhibitions around the world, written by today's leading artists, curators, and historians.

Fine Art Connoisseur magazine is published bimonthly, and filled with stories of art, rich reproductions, and excellent writing from top art experts exploring historical American and European art, as well as today's best artists.

Watercolor Artist celebrates the magic of watercolor. Columns and features from the top watercolorists working today. A magazine for watercolor painters and illustrators, Watercolor Artist features practical, step-by-step instructions, new product information, artist profiles, and answers to readers' questions about technique.

Visual Arts

Picture Source:https://www.unstudio.com/image/2018/7/26/

Architecture is "the art of designing and building structures."

“Architecture.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/architecture.

The architecture resources below are a few examples of what is in the library's collection:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

Alabama Architecture by Alice Bowsher; M. Lewis Kennedy Jr; Charles A. Moss Jr (Introduction by)
Call Number: NA730.A2 B69 2001
ISBN: 0817310819
Publication Date: 2001-04-18
Alabama Architecture is a lavishly illustrated book that interprets the state's rich architectural landscape in a fresh manner that is appealing to general readers as well as design professionals. With the use of spare, engaging text, careful building documantation, and artful photography, Alice Bowsher and Lewis Kennedy focus the reader's eye and understanding on the variety of ways ideas come to life in the hands of architects and builders. With more than 150 original, full-color images, the book is organized into chapters devoted to basic design elements: place, form, space, balance, materials, light, movement, proportion, context, and delight. Featured are 100 Alabama sites from all regions of the state, dating from the antebellum period to the present day, both grand and modest. Ranging from the Greek Revival opulence of the Gaineswood mansion in Demopolis to the humble weathered logs of the Claybank pioneer church in Ozark; from the romantic profile of a medieval keep in the Lineville Water Tower to the flowing wave motif of the Mercedes-Benz Visitor Center at Vance; and from the pungent, dimly lit interior of Dreamland Bar-B-Que in Tuscaloosa to the modern, light-drenched lobby of the Southern Progress office building in Birmingham, Bowsher and Kennedy carry us on an exhilarating, educational, and aesthetic tour of the state. Published in cooperation with the Alabama Architecutral Foundation, Alabama Architecture presents an original, compelling picture of Alabama and its broadly diverse architecture. Written for a popular audience, the book is an ideal gift for all readers interested in architecture, design, southern heritage, or Alabamiana. More than that, Alabama Architecture is a lasting tribute to the architects, designers, builders, and craftsmen who have enriched the state with their vision and art. This project has been made possible in part by grants from the Alabama State Council on the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Alabama Historical Commission.
Ancient Rome by Ada Gabucci; Stefano Peccatori (Editor); Stefano Zuffi (Editor); T. M. Hartmann (Translator)
Call Number: N 5760 .G25 2002
ISBN: 0892366567
Publication Date: 2002-05-09
Rome continues to be the monumental expression of a legend. It is the eternal city where all roads of the ancient world converged, and through the millennia has been the model for the very concept of a universal empire. Through art, architecture, and urban planning, the empire expanded with an exceptional synthesis of technology, politics, law, and propaganda, conquering Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East. Accompanied by masterpieces of architecture, sculpture and painting and the words of illustrious figures, Ancient Rome: Art, Architecture, and History follows the arc of the city and its civilization from their beginnings to their height and decline. Included are discussions of the emperor Augustus; the Julio-Claudian dynasty; the ill-fated town of Pompeii; the architecture and planning of the metropolis; the art and architecture of the provinces of Europe and North Africa; and the fall of the Western Empire and the establishment of the Byzantine Empire as the heir of Rome.
Architects Today by Kester Rattenbury; Robert Bevan; Kieran Long
Call Number: NA 680 .R387 2004
ISBN: 9781856694926
Publication Date: 2006-08-10
Have you ever wanted to have information about the world's most influential architects at your fingertips? Written by three architectural journalists, this book cuts the world's greatest and most provocative practicing architects down to sizeboth the old and established and the rising stars. With two fully illustrated pages for each architect, a clear, lively design, and an alphabetical organization,Architects Today breaks down the usual arcane architectural categorizations. It offers an insight and introduction to key contemporary architects as well as a snapshot of the varied nature of todays architecture. For each architect, the book gives key biographical information as well as illustrations of their most representative and iconic buildings, and an assessment of their place in the international scene. This volume will appeal to anyone interested in contemporary architecture, as both an introductionand as a handy reference source.
Icons of Architecture by Sabine Thiel-Siling (Editor)
Call Number: NA 680 .I26 2005
ISBN: 9783791333984
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
This illustrated volume is the best of what international architectural experts have to offer: a convincing selection of the century's superlative architecture from the turn of the century to present day. The buildings examined in this book, well-known today as icons of 2Oth century architecture, were considered spectacular in their own times for reasons ranging from stylistic innovation to technological breakthrough. New York City's Chrysler Building, Lloyd's of London, and the exciting new Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain - each of these structures, whether treasured or despised, has become a modern-day place of pilgrimage, and the stories behind their rise to iconic status have shed light on how we think about the built environment. Each building is presented in a double-page spread with brilliant photographs, original drawings, and helpful plans. Texts written by recognized specialists describe each work's design features and historical significance.

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus's library. Please ask a librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students can view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. Please have your headphones for listening to the videos.

Three Wright Eras: Places for Living Work and Worship
Call Number: DVD 721 THR
Humanities DVD's Notebook
I.M. PEL: First Person Singular- Architecture
Call Number: DVD 720.97 IMP
Humanities DVD's Notebook
Gothic Cathedrals
Call Number: DVD 726.6 GOT
Humanities DVD's Notebook
Glories of Medieval Art: The Cloisters
Call Number: DVD 709.02 CLO
Humanities DVD's Notebook
Classical Architecture by BBC Worldwide
Call Number: DVD 722 CLA
Publication Date: 2008

Picture Source: https://www.rezclick.com/followyourart/?page=calendar

Painting is the art of creating two or three-dimensional visual art through the use of shapes, lines, colors, tones, and textures.

Owen, Peter D. “Painting.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 28 Jan. 2019, https://www.britannica.com/art/painting.

The painting resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's catalog:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

Epic Tales from Ancient India by Marika Sardar; Neeraja Poddar; Qamar Adamjee; Alka Patel
Call Number: ND 1452 .I4 S26 2017
ISBN: 0300223722
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Exploring the topic of narrativity in Indian art, this beautiful and deeply researched book considers illustrations to the Bhagavata Purana, the Ramayana, the Ragamala, and a range of texts in the Persian language, notably the Shahnama. Featuring stunning reproductions of paintings made between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries from the Edwin Binney 3rd Collection at The San Diego Museum of Art, the publication includes thorough and fascinating explanations of the narrative of each text, including how that narrative is visually conveyed. Essays examine why these particular stories are so enduring, why patrons may have chosen to have a copy of a particular text made for their own collections, and how artists responded to the challenge of creating new versions of venerable classics.
Mad Enchantment by Ross King
Call Number: ND 553 .M7 K53 2016
ISBN: 9781632860125
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist. From bestselling author Ross King, a brilliant portrait of legendary artist Claude Monet and the story of his most memorable achievement, the water lilies. Claude Monet is perhaps the world's most beloved artist, and among all his creations, the paintings of the water lilies in his garden at Giverny are most famous.
Paint Pouring by Rick Cheadle
Call Number: ND 1535 .P35 2019
ISBN: 9781631582998
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Here is an artist sharing his knowledge of paint pouring--how to set up a studio, what materials to use, recommended techniques, and more (including what not to do). Paint Pouring is a form of abstract art that uses acrylic paints with a runny (fluid) consistency. By following the techniques outlined in this book, you will have enough knowledge to start making poured paintings of your own.
Pastel Painting Atelier by Ellen Eagle
Call Number: NC 880 .E23 2013
ISBN: 9780823008414
Publication Date: 2013-04-23
"Pastel Painting Atelieris a comprehensive guide to the qualities of pastel, as well as the techniques and practices involved in using them. The book follows the development and manufacture of pastels from the 15th century to the modern day, when the culmination of a full palette of color led to artistic expansion in richly hued paintings. Featuring the work of old masters, as well as a number of notable contemporary artists, Pastel Painting Atelierinspires readers with the possibilities of this vibrant medium. Acclaimed pastel artist and teacher Ellen Eagle takes the reader through all the stages of mastering pastel, from materials, application, and formal techniques to explorations of personal vision and aesthetic."
Understanding Art by Lois Fichner-Rathus
Call Number: N 345 .F45 2013
ISBN: 1111836957
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
UNDERSTANDING ART provides a balanced approach to appreciating art, incorporating coverage of masterworks from the past and present. Author Lois Fichner-Rathus combines a conversational writing style with rich images, all designed to inspire understanding of the art that surrounds you in everyday life.

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus LRC/library. Please ask a librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students can view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. You must provide your headphones/earphones for listening to the videos.

The Impressionists: The French Revolution by A&E
Call Number: DVD 709.0344 IMP
Publication Date: 2001
Watercolor Workshop
Call Number: DVD 751.42 WAT
Humanities DVD's Notebook
Life of Leonardo de Vinci
Call Number: DVD 759.5 LIF
Humanities DVD's Notebook
Andrew Wyeth: Helga Pictures
Call Number: DVD 757.22 AND
Humanities DVD's Notebook
What You Paint
Call Number: DVD 750 QUI
Humanities DVD's Notebook

Picture Source: https://shelbycountyartscouncil.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/pexels-photo-226243.jpeg

Photography is the art of capturing light with a camera, usually via a digital sensor or film, to create an image. With the right camera equipment, you can even photograph wavelengths of light invisible to the human eye, including UV, infrared, and radio.

Cox, Spencer. “Spencer Cox.” Photography Life, 10 Aug. 2019, https://photographylife.com/what-is-photography.

The picture resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's catalog:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

The Basic Book of Photography by Tom Grimm (Photographer); Michele Grimm (Photographer); Ezelda Garcia (Illustrator); Cindy King (Illustrator)
Call Number: TR 146 .G696 2003
ISBN: 0452284252
Publication Date: 2003-08-26
For nearly three decades, The Basic Book of Photography has been the ideal handbook for beginning and experienced photographers alike. This comprehensive edition has been expanded to include the latest technological innovations in digital photography and the most modern methods and products used in traditional film photography. So whether you use a single lens reflex (SLR), compact, APS, single-use, instant, or digital camera, you'll learn everything you need to know about how to operate your photo equipment successfully to produce the most striking pictures. This greatly expanded edition includes: An all new chapter on digital cameras and imaging Indoor and outdoor lighting techniques Descriptions of all color, black-and-white, and infrared films Procedures for processing your own pictures Ways to enjoy your photography on the internet With more than 395 instructive illustrations and an extensive glossary, The Basic Book of Photography help you become the photographer you always wanted to be.
IPhone Photography for Everybody by Bert Krages; Michael Fagans
Call Number: TR 263 .I64 2017
ISBN: 1682032906
Publication Date: 2017-10-15
We all take quick shots of the world around us--but shooting truly exceptional images with your iPhone requires a little more care. It forces you to slow down, observe the moment more deeply, and apply your artistic eye to capturing the true essence of the scene before you. Happily, the iPhone's limited controls actually make it an idea tool for delving into this process because it requires you to strip down your approach to the fundamentals and rely on what has always been the bestpart of the image making process: the human mind. In this book, you'll learn to use a camera phone and apps to make far more interesting photographs. Along with some technical information, experienced professional photojournalist Michael Fagans has included insightful information about his mind-set when shooting, his approach to composition, and how he handles other creative aspects of the photography process.
Photography As a Tool by Time-Life Books Editors (Contribution by)
Call Number: TR 692 .P54 1982
ISBN: 0809444100
Publication Date: 1982-01-01
National Geographic Rarely Seen by National Geographic Staff; Stephen Alvarez (Foreword by)
Call Number: TR 790 .N365 2015
ISBN: 1426219792
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
This "mini" sized version of the New York Times bestseller showcases astounding natural phenomena, far-flung landscapes, and uncommon animal species, shot by star National Geographic photographers. Volcanic lightning cuts through the night sky. A lone kangaroo skims the surface of a lake at sunset. A jeweled scarab from King Tut's tomb glitters in the darkness. The dazzling landmark book shot by an elite group of acclaimed photographers is now available as a compact gift book. Culled to reflect the many variations of our planet's secret wonders--from 30,000-year-old cave paintings to flowers that bloom every few years to engravings inside Abraham Lincoln's watch--each image offers a powerful perspective that will astonish and inspire. Filled with behind-the-scenes stories and wrought with beauty, mystery, and joy, Rarely Seen is a breathtaking window to the extraordinary.

Photography as Art by BBC Worldwide
Call Number: DVD 770 PHO

Picture Source: https://www.florenceacademyofart.se/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/student-Hilde-Hoy-sculpting-the-portrait.jpg

Sculpting is the art of carving and modeling materials such as wood, clay, metal, or stone into solid objects.

“SCULPTING: Definition in the Cambridge English Dictionary,” https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/sculpting.

The sculpting resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's catalog:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

1000 Sculptures of Genius by Joseph Manca; Patrick Bade; Sara Costello; Victoria Charles (Editor); Sarah Costello
Call Number: NB 1142 .M36 2007
ISBN: 1844842150
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
From the Antiquity to the twentieth century, this sculpture collection offers a truly original vision of Western art. Here are the most sensual and harmonious masterworks to the most provocative and minimalist sculptures. Sculpture shapes the world and our concept of beauty, leaving everlasting silhouettes and always creating new intriguing ones. These masterworks are the mirror of an era, of an artist and his public and through this sculpture gallery, one visits not only the history of art, but History as well. Between the acclaimed ideals of beauty and the most controversial works, 1000 Sculptures of Genius will give you a true panoramic view of Western sculpture. Along with numerous references, comments on masterworks and biographies, this work enables the reader to rediscover the Western world heritage and is the perfect guide for art students and statuary lovers.
Egyptian Sculpture by Edna R. Russmann; David Finn
Call Number: NB 1296.2 .R87 1989
ISBN: 029270402X
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
Examines more than eighty portrait sculptures by ancient Egyptian artists, and looks at the development of style over a three thousand year period.
An Introduction to Italian Sculpture by John Wyndham Pope-Hennessy
Call Number: NB 614 .P6 1963 v.1
ISBN: 0714814652

Through the Eyes of the Sculptor by Films for the Humanities and Sciences
Call Number: DVD 730.92 THR
Publication Date: 2005
Ceramics: Hand Building
Call Number: 738.1 CRE
Humanities DVD's Notebook

eBook Collection

Picture Source: https://blog.tcea.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/ebook-1.jpg

To access ebooks, click on "Find A Book" on the library's homepage or click here: (EBSCOhost E-books).

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.