Suscc Library: Humanities 101: Literary Arts

Picture Source: http://siskiyouarts.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/directory-literary-arts.jpg

Arts & Architecture video Collection Database

Arts & Architecture Video Collection Link Below:

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Films on Feature Films for Education

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

127 Hours
Publication Date: 2010
127 HOURS is the new film from Danny Boyle, the Academy Award winning director of last year's Best Picture, SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE. 127 HOURS is the true story of mountain climber Aron Ralston's (James Franco) remarkable adventure to save himself after a fallen boulder crashes on his arm and traps him in an isolated canyon in Utah. Over the next five days Ralston examines his life and survives the elements to finally discover he has the courage and the wherewithal to extricate himself by any means necessary, scale a 65 foot wall and hike over eight miles before he is finally rescued. Throughout his journey, Ralston recalls friends, lovers (Clemence Poesy), family, and the two hikers (Amber Tamblyn and Kate Mara) he met before his accident. Will they be the last two people he ever had the chance to meet? A visceral thrilling story that will take an audience on a never before experienced journey and prove what we can do when we choose life.
A Midsummer Night's Dream
Publication Date: 1999
A splendid cast that includes Christian Bale, Rupert Everett, Calista Flockhart, Kevin Kline, Sophie Marceau, Michelle Pfeiffer, David Strathairn and Stanley Tucci brings to life this dynamic and enchanting new version of Shakespeare's most magical comedy. Teeming with dangerous potions, fairy warfare and misbegotten romances, "William Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream" is the wondrous tale of a singular night in which roguish spirits turn the world of love on its head.
Carmen Jones
Publication Date: 1954
At an all-black army camp, civilian parachute maker and "hot bundle" Carmen Jones is desired by many of the men. Naturally, she wants Joe, who's engaged to sweet Cindy Lou and about to go into pilot training for the Korean War. Going after him, she succeeds only in getting him into the stockade. While she awaits his release, trouble approaches for both of them. Songs from the Bizet opera with modernized lyrics.
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Publication Date: 2016
Teenager Jacob follows clues that take him to a mysterious island, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's School for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores the abandoned bedrooms and hallways, he discovers that its former occupants were far more than peculiar; they possessed incredible powers. And they may still be alive.
The Diary of Anne Frank
Publication Date: 1959
This real life diary of a young Jewish girl in Nazi-occupied Holland perfectly conveys the tension, claustrophobia, and intense hardships suffered by two fugitive families.

Databases on Literature

The databases below can be found on the Alabama Virtual Library's website:

https://www.avl.lib.al.us/resources/college-university

Gale General OneFile

This database provides access to magazines, journals, newspapers, references, and audio content.

Gale Literary Sources

This database provides access to Gale's premier literary databases.

Gale Literature- Scribner Writer Series

This database provides access to signed essays on the lives and works of authors and biographical information on the authors and their works.

Gale Literature -Twayne's Author Series

This database provides access to an introduction to the lives and works of major writers and the context for the period in which the writers lived. Also, it provides commentary on the history and influence of literature.

eBook Collection

Picture Source: https://blog.tcea.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/ebook-1.jpg

To access ebooks, click on "Find A Book" on the tabs located on the library's homepage or click here: (EBSCOhost E-books).

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Literary Arts

Picture Source: https://i0.wp.com/www.ivyzen.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/creative-writing-e

Creative writing is the art of someone writing something that is either fiction or poetry, which will display the use of "imagination or invention."

“Creative Writing: Definition of Creative Writing by Lexico.” Lexico Dictionaries | English, Lexico Dictionaries, https://www.lexico.com/en/definition/creative_writing.

The creative writing books below are a few examples of what is in the library's collection:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

The Everything Creative Writing Book by Wendy Burt-Thomas
Call Number: PE 1408 .W5806 2000
ISBN: 9781440501524
Publication Date: 2010-06-18
Many people can write. But writing well enough to get published takes hours of practice, the ability to take criticism, and expert advice. Filled with stories and tips from published authors, this easy-to-use guide teaches you the basics of the writing craft. Whether you want to create poems or plays, children's books or online blogs, romance novels or a memoir, you'll learn to write more effectively and creatively. Published author, editor, and PR consultant Wendy Burt-Thomas covers all aspects of writing, including how to: Prepare to write, from planning to research to organization, Properly structure your piece to fit your chosen genre, Stay focused during the drafting and editing processes, Work with other authors, Overcome writer's block, and Market your writing.
Creative Writing by Sheila Bender
Call Number: PN 189 .B46 2011
ISBN: 9780071736992
Publication Date: 2011-01-10
Whether for high school, college or pleasure creative writing, you need to know the basic elements of the craft. Creative Writing DeMYSTiFieD gives you helpful suggestions for evaluating your work for freshness and originality and offers scores of exercises, techniques, samples and websites to access more. The book introduces you to general creative writing terms and craft as well as genre specific terms and craft elements. Creative Writing DeMYSTiFieD lets you work at your own pace and provides: -An overview of the creative writing field today and its history -Insights from top writers in the creative writing subgenres -Exercises by professionals in all the subgenres -Answers to questions creative writers have -Resources for revising and finishing your work.
Creative Writing by Colin Bulman
Call Number: PN 3355 .B76 2007
ISBN: 9780745636870
Publication Date: 2006-12-08
All writers are familiar with terms like plot, suspense, conflict and character. They may be less familiar with intertextuality, anachrony, and fabula, and they may be even less confident in achieving the effects these terms refer to. This book defines fictional techniques and guides the potential writer in their use. It may spark off ideas for stories and novels and provide first-aid for failing stories. A story's ending may come as a surprise to the reader, suspense may have the reader on the edge of the seat, and conflict may lead to unbearable excitement. It is the job of the writer to create these effects and this book illustrates how it is done. The book is for students doing creative writing in higher education, at "A" level, and it will be essential reading for anyone interested in writing fiction.
Crafting the Personal Essay by Dinty W. Moore
Call Number: PE 1479 .A88 M66 2010
ISBN: 9781582977966
Publication Date: 2010-09-08
Award winning essayist Scott Russell Sanders once compared the art of essay writing to "the pursuit of mental rabbits"--a rambling through thickets of thought in search of some brief glimmer of fuzzy truth. While some people persist in the belief that essays are stuffy and antiquated, the truth is that the personal essay is an ever-changing creative medium that provides an ideal vehicle for satisfying the human urge to document truths as we experience them and share them with others--to capture a bit of life on paper. Crafting the Personal Essay is designed to help you explore the flexibility and power of the personal essay in your own writing. This hands-on, creativity-expanding guide will help you infuse your nonfiction with honesty, personality, and energy.
You Can Write by James V. Smith
Call Number: PN 3365 .S64 2010
ISBN: 9781582979618
Publication Date: 2010-11-29
Turn Your Big Idea into a Salable Novel. Do you have an idea for a great novel? Have you always dreamed of writing a bestseller? Are you at a loss for where to start? Look no further. You Can Write a Novel, 2nd Edition, gives you concrete, proven techniques to get from idea, to manuscript, to bookstore. Veteran author James V. Smith, Jr., breaks down the novel writing process into ten logical steps. You'll start building the foundation for your book right away by taking your story's three most importance incidents from brainstorm to final draft perfection. Smith's approach will guide you through a practical sequence designed to keep you focused, organized, and moving forward. You Can Write a Novel skillfully and simply addresses the essentials, such as plot, character, setting, dialogue, and action. You'll learn how to generate a salable idea, develop your idea into a framework, and build your framework into a finished manuscript.

Picture Source: https://www.theelephant.info/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/poetry.jpg

Poetry is the art of "writing a concentrated imaginative awareness of experience in language chosen and arranged to create a specific emotional response through meaning, sound, and rhythm."

“Poetry.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/poetry.

The poetry resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's catalog:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

Poetry by Jeffrey Wainwright
Call Number: PR 502 .W27 2004
ISBN: 0415287634
Publication Date: 2004-06-18
How do I read a poem? Do I really understand poetry? This comprehensive guide demystifies the world of poetry, exploring poetic forms and traditions which can at first seem bewildering. Showing how any reader can gain more pleasure from poetry, it looks at the ways in which poetry interacts with the language we use in our everyday lives and explores how poems use language and form to create meaning. Drawing on examples ranging from Chaucer to children's rhymes, Cole Porter to Carol Ann Duffy, and from around the English-speaking world, it looks at aspects including: how technical aspects such as rhythm and measures work how different tones of voice affect a poem how poetic language relates to everyday language how different types of poetry work, from sonnets to free verse how the form and 'space' of a poem contributes to its meaning. Poetry: The Basicsis an invaluable and easy to read guide for anyone wanting to get to grips with reading and writing poetry.
The State of the Art by David Lehman
Call Number: PS 325 .L44 2015
ISBN: 9780822944393
Publication Date: 2015-04-06
The acclaimed annual, The Best American Poetry, is the most prestigious showcase of new poetry in the United States and Canada. Each year since the series began in 1988, David Lehman has contributed a foreword, and this has evolved into a sort of state-of-the-art address that surveys new developments and explores various matters facing poets and their readers today. This book collects all twenty-nine forewords (including the two written for the retrospective "Best of the Best" volumes for the tenth and twenty-fifth anniversaries.) Beginning with a new introduction by Lehman and a foreword by poet Denise Duhamel (guest editor for The Best American Poetry 2013), the collection conveys a sense of American poetry in the making, year by year, over the course of a quarter of a century.
Maya Angelou - The Complete Poetry by Maya Angelou
Call Number: PS 3551 .N464 2015
ISBN: 9780812997873
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
The beauty and spirit of Maya Angelou's words live on in this complete collection of poetry. Throughout her illustrious career in letters, Maya Angelou gifted, healed, and inspired the world with her words. Now the beauty and spirit of those words live on in this new and complete collection of poetry that reflects and honors the writer's remarkable life.
Best-Loved Poems by John Boyes
Call Number: PR 1175 .B47 2019
ISBN: 1788886534
Publication Date: 2019
This glorious celebration of classic poetry features verse from around the English-speaking world. Carefully selected and divided into themed sections, the poems encompass the wealth of human experience - love, death, youth, old age, nature, travel and humour are all included in works that range from the 1500s onwards. From Coleridge's fantastical Xanadu or the battlefields of John McCrae, to the ominous croaking of Poe's raven, this is a wonderful collection of poems containing the great and the good, the funny and the tragic, and everything in between.
Race in the Poetry of Langston Hughes by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Claudia Durst Johnson
Call Number: PS 3515 .U274 Z6977 2013
ISBN: 9780737769807
Publication Date: 2013-11-25
This informative edition explores the poetry of Langston Hughes through the lens of race.Coverage includes an examination of Hughes's life and influences; a look at key ideas related to race in Hughes's poetry, including the influence of African-American music, the use of poetry to address racial problems, and the politics of Hughes's anti-lynching poems; and contemporary perspectives on race, such as the decline of civil rights reform and the role of hip-hop in shaping black music.

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus LRC/library. Please ask the librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students are able to view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. You will need to provide your own headphones/earphones for listening to the videos.

Maya Angelou by American Masters
Call Number: DVD 818 ANG
Publication Date: 2016

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus's library. Please ask a librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students can view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. Please have your headphones for listening to the videos.

The DVDs below are a few examples of books that were created into movies. They are available in the library

Gawain and the Green Knight by Gawain Poet
Call Number: DVD 821.1 GAW
Publication Date: 2004
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Call Number: DVD 791.43 GRE
Publication Date: 2013
Oedipus the King by Sophocles
Call Number: DVD 882.01 OED
Publication Date: 2008
The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
Call Number: DVD 813.4 SCA
Publication Date: 1979
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Call Number: DVD 808.3 LEE
Publication Date: 1962