Suscc Library: Humanities 101: Performing Arts

Picture Source: DepositPhotos

Arts & Architecture Video Collection Database

Arts & Architecture Video Collection Link Below:

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Films on Feature Films for Education

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Black Swan
Publication Date: 2010
Nina (Portman) is a ballerina in a New York City ballet company whose life, like all those in her profession, is completely consumed with dance. She lives with her obsessive former ballerina mother Erica (Hershey) who exerts a suffocating control over her. When artistic director Thomas Leroy (Cassel) decides to replace prima ballerina Beth MacIntyre (Ryder) for the opening production of their new season, Swan Lake, Nina is his first choice. But Nina has competition: a new dancer, Lily (Kunis), who impresses Leroy as well. Swan Lake requires a dancer who can play both the White Swan with innocence and grace, and the Black Swan, who represents guile and sensuality. Nina fits the White Swan role perfectly but Lily is the personification of the Black Swan. As the two young dancers expand their rivalry into a twisted friendship, Nina begins to get more in touch with her dark side - a recklessness that threatens to destroy her.
Can Can
Publication Date: 1960
A Montmarte Dance hall owner of the 1800s is subjected to raids for her performances of the can-can.
The King and I
Publication Date: 1956
Yul Brynner's magnetic, Oscar-winning performance as the demanding 19th century king of Siam has indelibly linked him with the role. The clash of temperaments between governess Anna and the King culminates with "Shall We Dance," one of the screen's most joyous musical moments.
Moulin Rouge
Publication Date: 2001
Set in 1899, this musical drama features Ewan McGregor as a young poet who defies his father by moving to "the absinthe-soaked, amoral, bohemian" neighbourhood of Montmatre. It is here that he meets the diminutive artist Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec (John Leguizamo) and is drafted to write a nightclub spectacular. In this seedy world of sex and drugs, he begins a passionate but ultimately doomed love affair with the most famous courtesan (Nicole Kidman) in Paris.
Stormy Weather
Publication Date: 1943
Dancing great Bill 'Williamson' sees his face on the cover of Theatre World magazine and reminisces: just back from World War I, he meets lovely singer Selina Rogers at a soldiers' ball and promises to come back to her when he "gets to be somebody." Years go by, and Bill and Selina's rising careers intersect only briefly, since Selina is unwilling to "settle down." Will she ever change her mind? Concludes with a big all-star show hosted by Cab Calloway.
The Greatest Showman
Publication Date: 2017

Database on Music

The database below can be found on the Alabama Virtual Library's website:

https://www.avl.lib.al.us/resources/college-university

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts:

This database provides access to over 10 million articles and over 250 journal

eBook Collection

Picture Source: https://blog.tcea.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/ebook-1.jpg

To access ebooks, click on "Find A Book" on the library's homepage or click here: (EBSCOhost E-books).

(For off-campus access)

Username: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Password: Request access from your instructor or the library.

Performing Arts

Dance is the art of someone moving their body "rhythmically" typically to music.

“Dance.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dance.

The dance resources below are a few examples of what is in the library's collection:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

The Dance : Through the Ages by Walter Sorell
Call Number: GV 1601 .S69 1967
ISBN: 9780500010419
Publication Date: 1967
Dance Anatomy by Jacqui Greene Haas
Call Number: RC 1220 .D35 H33 2010
ISBN: 9780736081931
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Powerful, expressive, and compelling! Now you can see what it takes to be a stronger, more elegant dancer. Featuring over 200 full-color illustrations, Dance Anatomyvisually depicts the unique relationship between muscle development and aesthetic movement as never before. Dance Anatomyfeatures 82 of the most effective dance, movement, and performance exercises, each designed to promote perfect alignment, improved placement, proper breathing, and prevention of common injuries.
The Dance Bible by Camille Lefevre
Call Number: GV 1597 .L44 2012
ISBN: 9780764165276
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
The Dance Bible is a book for beginners who have the passion to dance but are unsure how to transform their creative impulse into a career. Advises readers on modern dance, jazz, ballet, contemporary, non-western forms, and even street dance Describes and discuses training regimes and fundamental dance techniques Offers suggestions on how to develop one's own unique style of expression Dancers get advice on physical conditioning and learning to care for their body, on and off the stage Finally, the author offers detailed advice on how beginning dancers can effectively market their talent, maximize income, and sustain a successful career in the highly competitive world of dance.
Teaching Dance as Art in Education by Brenda Pugh McCutchen
Call Number: GV 1589 .M33 2006
ISBN: 0736051880
Publication Date: 2006-03-27
Teaching Dance as Art in Education is a comprehensive introductory textbook that helps dance education majors and dance specialists understand and incorporate the aesthetic foundations of educational dance in grades K-12. Unlike other models of teaching dance, this book delineates what a standards-oriented, aesthetically driven program should encompass for both the dance specialist and his or her K-12 students. Teaching Dance as Art in Education fosters an understanding of dance as arts education and defines the dance specialist's roles and responsibilities, including how the national arts initiatives and student-centered inquiry affect the teaching of dance. It explains how to advance student growth in the areas most critical to teaching dance: the physical, mental, artistic, and social. Content is delineated through four cornerstones of dance as art in education: -Dancing and performing -Creating and composing -Knowing history, culture, and context -Analyzing and critiquing.
Theatre and Dance by Kate Elswit
Call Number: PN 2041 .D36 2018
ISBN: 113760574X
Publication Date: 2018-01-17
This succinct and engaging text explores the interdependence between theatre and dance. Making a compelling case for the significance of resisting genre distinctions in the arts, Kate Elswit demonstrates why and how the ampersand between theatre and dance needs to be understood as the rule, rather than the exception. This illuminating guide focuses on the interconnected ecosystems of practice that constitute performance history, the expansion of theatre and dance forms on contemporary North American and European stages, and the disciplinary methods that scholars use today to understand such practices, both past and present. Accessible and affordable, this is an ideal resource for theatre students and lovers everywhere.

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus's library. Please ask the librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students can view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. You will need headphones for listening to the videos.

American Ballet Theatre: A History by PBS
Call Number: DVD 792.8 AME
The Bolshoi Ballet: Cinderella by Kultur
Call Number: DVD 792.8 CIN
Publication Date: 1961
Carmen by Kultur
Call Number: DVD 792.84 CAR
Publication Date: 1980
Swan Lake by Educational Broadcasting Corporation
Call Number: DVD 792.8 SWA
Publication Date: 2005
The Sleeping Beauty by Kultur
Call Number: DVD 792.8 SLE
Publication Date: 1982

Picture Source: https://www.suscc.edu/skins/userfiles/images/Theater_WEB_SMALL.jpg

Drama is the art of characters telling a story that involves struggle and emotion through the use of "actions and dialogue and typically designed for theatrical performance."

“Drama.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/drama.

The drama resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's collection:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

100 Greatest American Plays by Thomas S. Hischak
Call Number: PS 625 .A25 2017
ISBN: 1442256052
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
In 100 Greatest American Plays, Thomas S. Hischak provides an engaging discussion of the best stage productions to come out of the United States. Each play is discussed in the context of its original presentation as well as its legacy. Arranged alphabetically, the entries for these plays include: -plot details -production history -biography of the playwright -literary aspects of the drama -critical reaction to the play -major awards -the play's influence -cast lists of notable stage and film versions.
Elizabethan Drama by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: PR 421 .E44 2004
ISBN: 079107675X
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Critical essays discuss the works of the major dramatists of the Elizabethan age in this comprehensive volume.
Greek Drama by Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: PA 3133 .G655 2004
ISBN: 0791078949
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
This volume examines the development of comedy and tragedy in early Greek drama, with essays that explore the works of many of the original dramatists, including Aristophanes, Sophocles, Aeschylus, and Euripides.
Stella Adler on America's Master Playwrights by Stella Adler; Barry Paris (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1707 .A335 2012
ISBN: 9780679424437
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
Her classes of script analysis became legendary; brilliant revelations of the playwrights, the characters, the social class and the time of the play as opposed to one's own. Adler explored how to find the ideas and experience them; how to search for the soul, for what is unsaid; all of this as a way of building craft as distinct from talent. Her new book, brilliantly edited by Barry Paris, brings together her most important lectures on America's plays and playwrights, the giants of the twentieth century, men she knew, loved, and worked with.

DVDs: A variety of videos is available for HUM 100 and HUM 101 students in each campus's library. Please ask a librarian for assistance. The videos may not be taken from the library; however, students can view them using a desktop computer in the LRC. You will need headphones for listening to the videos.

OKLAHOMA! by Roger and Hammerstein's
Call Number: DVD 782.14 OKL
Publication Date: 2005
Tartuffe by SUSCC Drama Department
Call Number: DVD 84.4 TAR SPG. Show 2011
Publication Date: 2011
West Side Story by New Republic Film
Call Number: DVD 782.14 WES
Publication Date: 1961
Fences by Paramount Pictures
Call Number: BLU 791.43 FEN
Publication Date: 2017
The Phantom of the Opera by Warner Bros. Pictures
Call Number: DVD 782.14 PHA
Publication Date: 2005
Annie Get Your Gun by Warner Bros. Pictures
Call Number: DVD 782.14 ANN
Publication Date: 2000
Chicago by Miramax Films
Call Number: DVD 782.14 CHI
Publication Date: 2002
The Plays of William Shakespeare: The Merry Wives of Windsor by Kultur
Call Number: DVD 822.23 MER

Picture Source:https://www.freepick.com

Music is the art of "ordering tones or sounds in succession, in combination, and in temporal relationships to produce a composition having unity and continuity."

“Music.” Merriam-Webster, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/music.

The music resources below are a few examples of what is on the library's catalog:

https://suscc.agverso.com/home?cid=suscc&lid=suscc

Books:

Basic Elements of Music by Michael J. Pagliaro
Call Number: ML 460 .P3115 2016
ISBN: 9781442257788
Publication Date: 2016-03-25
Basic Elements of Music introduces readers to a wide range of knowledge essential for a well-rounded understanding of music. This primer surveys the history of music and the composers who made that history; the history of instrument families and how the instruments function; an introduction to the science of sound and sound production; the various types of ensembles; and the fundamentals of music theory, form in music, musical notation, and music vocabulary. Accessible, yet detailed and comprehensive, Michael Pagliaro's handbook is an excellent guide for music lovers, instructors, and students in any music program. As an introduction to music for the layman, a refresher for music teachers planning lessons, or an enrichment source for professional musicians seeking broader music knowledge, this book is an invaluable addition to any library.
How Music Works by David Byrne
Call Number: ML 410 .B997 A5 2017
ISBN: 0804188939
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
*Updated with a new chapter on digital curation* How Music Works is David Byrne's incisive and enthusiastic look at the musical art form, from its very inceptions to the influences that shape it, whether acoustical, economic, social or technological. Utilizing his incomparable career and inspired collaborations with Talking Heads, Brian Eno, and many others, Byrne taps deeply into his lifetime of knowledge to explore the panoptic elements of music, how it shapes the human experience, and reveals the impetus behind how we create, consume, distribute, and enjoy the songs, symphonies, and rhythms that provide the backbeat of life. Byrne's magnum opus uncovers ever-new and thrilling realizations about the redemptive liberation that music brings us all.
Music by Roger Kamien
Call Number: MT 90 .K34 2000
ISBN: 0070336776
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Through seven editions, Roger Kamien's Music: An Appreciation has become the most widely used text for Music Appreciation and Introduction to Music Literature courses. The author has approached his new eight edition with the goal of re-examining the scholarship and refreshing the repertoire while maintaining the strengths that have made the book number one - the clear presentation of musical elements, the vivid depiction of music history, the carefully chosen musical examples, the detailed and informative Listening Outlines, and the unsurpassed supplements package.
Southern Music - American Music by Bill C. Malone
Call Number: ML 3477 .M34 1979
ISBN: 0813103002
Publication Date: 2003
Southern Music/American Music is the first book to investigate the facets of American music from the South and the many popular forms that emerged from it. In this substantially revised and updated edition, Bill C. Malone and David Stricklin bring this classic work into the twenty-first century, including new material on recent phenomena such as the huge success of the soundtrack to O Brother, Where Art Thou? and the renewed popularity of Southern music, as well as important new artists Lucinda Williams, Alejandro Escovedo, and the Dixie Chicks, among others. Extensive bibliographic notes and a new suggested listening guide complete this essential study.
World Music by Richard Nidel
Call Number: ML 3545 .N54 2005
ISBN: 0415968003
Publication Date: 2004-11-23
World Music: The Basicsgives a concise introduction to popular musical styles found around the world. Organized alphabetically by region and then by country, it provides essential background information on the cultural and musical history of each area.