Veterinary Technology

Learn effective animal handling and restraint techniques! Animal Restraint for Veterinary Professionals, 2nd Edition describes each procedure with two to eight photos showing the exact steps needed to achieve safe restraint. A chapter is devoted to each domestic animal species, including cats, dogs, cattle, horses, sheep, goats, pigs, rabbits, rodents, ferrets, and birds. New to this edition are updated photographs showing the latest and greatest restraint procedures for all types of animals. Written by expert veterinary technician educators C.C. Sheldon, Teresa Sonsthagen, and James Topel, this practical guide also includes a chapter on knot tying! Step-by-step guidelines make it easy to understand safe, proper restraint procedures. Over 500 full-color photographs illustrate restraint procedures. A clear, non-technical writing style along with descriptive photographs simplifies animal restraint concepts. Comprehensive coverage in each chapter includes normal and abnormal behavior characteristics, precautions, special handling, restraint devices, and descriptions of medical procedures - such as venipuncture - for which special restraint procedures are necessary. Restraint Principles chapter summarizes the considerations for restraint, animal safety, circumstances for restraint, the effect of restraint on animals, and complications.  Knot Tying chapter presents basic types of knots that may be used to safely restrain larger animals.

This handy, pocket-sized reference is your definitive resource for small animal drugs. An industry favorite, Boothe's Small Animal Formulary has been expanded and completely updated. The newest edition has been long awaited and features available preparations, drug company sources, and species approval status, as well as constant IV infusion rates. Written by a member of the American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology, this comprehensive clinical tool: includes more than 650 generic drugs with corresponding brand names, indications, dosages, routes and frequencies; lists drugs by proprietary names with associated generic names; classifies drugs by action or therapeutic use; provides eight helpful appendices.

Start your veterinary technician education off on the right foot with Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition. Combining expert clinical coverage with engaging writing and vivid illustrations, this popular text is the key to understanding the anatomic and physiologic principles that will carry you throughout your career. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of the diverse ways in which animal bodies function at both the systemic and cellular levels, this textbook features a variety of helpful application boxes, vocabulary lists, and Test Yourself questions in every chapter to ensure you have a firm grasp of anatomic structure and its relevance to clinical practice. Clinical Application boxes throughout the text demonstrate the clinical relevance of anatomic and physiologic principles. Chapter outlines summarize the contents of each chapter at the major concept level. Test Yourself questions recap important information that appeared in the preceding section. Comprehensive glossary at the end of the text provides concise definitions and phonetic pronunciations of terms. NEW and UPDATED! Hundreds of high-quality, full color illustrations detail anatomic structures to enhance your understanding of their functions. NEW! Student chapter review questions on the Evolve companion website help reinforce key topics in each chapter.

Companion Animal Dentistry for Veterinary Technicians provides practical approaches to commonly performed dental procedures and comprehensive coverage of essential topics including the selection of dental equipment, radiology, dental cleanings, and anesthesia. The book opens with the foundations of building a dental practice before detailing the basics of instrumentation, sharpening, and charting. Two chapters are devoted to anesthesia to provide the reader with an understanding of the protocols designed to keep patients safe while effectively managing pain. Additional chapters explore exotic dentistry, equine dentistry, and providing home care instructions. Companion Animal Dentistry for Veterinary Technicians is the perfect resource for technicians and practitioners in school and professional practice.

Gain the knowledge you need to Identify and understand animal parasites! Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians, 6th Edition features clear and concise discussions of the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites. Chapters are organized by parasite group - including nematodes, cestodes, trematodes, protozoans, arthropods, and leeches - and include a detailed description of the group, with special emphasis on morphology, life cycle, and important parasites. Then in each chapter, material is conveniently organized by host species: dogs, cats, horses, ruminants, swine, birds, lab animals, fish, and reptiles. Written by educators Charles M. Hendrix and Ed Robinson, this full-color, spiral-bound book provides the skills that veterinary technicians need to collect samples, perform lab procedures, and communicate with clients. More than 300 full-color photos help you learn to recognize parasites and parasitic diseases in lab samples. Logical organization of chapters begins with an overview of external parasites, internal parasites, and nematodes, followed by chapters that go into detail of the parasites by host species. Step-by-step guidelines are provided for gathering samples and performing lab procedures, with clear instructions about how to perform the different laboratory techniques used in identifying parasites.

Learn to navigate the day-to-day skills you need to be a valuable member of the veterinary office team! Front Office Management for the Veterinary Team, 3rd Edition covers veterinary office duties ranging from: scheduling appointments to billing and accounting, managing inventory and medical records, marketing, using outside diagnostic laboratory services, and communicating effectively and compassionately with clients. This edition includes two all-new chapters on strategic planning and leadership, updated coverage of office procedures, veterinary ethics, and technology. In addition, this complete guide to veterinary practice management features step-by-step instructions, making it easier for you to master vital front office tasks!

Providing the ultimate terminology reference for veterinary assistants and technicians, AN ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO VETERINARY MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY, 4e provides an engaging, systematic approach to learning medical terms and understanding basic principles of veterinary medicine. This user-friendly textbook delivers a unique pedagogical presentation that makes it a comprehensive learning resource. Focusing on how medical terms are formed, analyzed, and defined, the text discusses anatomical landmarks, the positioning of animals, and the relationships between body parts. It also introduces terms used in the animal industry. Case studies illustrate how medical terminology is experienced in real-world practice, and an audio wordlist enables readers to hear the terms they are learning.

Learn the veterinary technician's role in the care of exotic pets and animals used in biomedical research! Laboratory Animal and Exotic Pet Medicine: Principles and Procedures, 3rd Edition helps you gain the knowledge and skills needed to ensure animal health and well-being. It covers animal husbandry, restraint and handling, and diseases, and provides guidelines to key clinical procedures such as blood collection, medication administration, anesthesia, and diagnostic imaging. Research-related information addresses the ethical concerns of exotic pet ownership, as well as the benefits and humane use of animals in research. Written by noted veterinary technology educator Margi Sirois, this text is a must-have resource for all caretakers of lab animals. Comprehensive coverage prepares you to work with all types of animals by addressing a wide variety of species including rats, mice, rabbits, guinea pigs, ferrets, hamsters, gerbils, nonhuman primates, amphibians, fish, reptiles, birds, farm animals, and cats and dogs; it also covers topics such as animal species, the laboratory setting, regulatory guidelines, and ethical considerations.

Ensure you're at your clinical best! Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 7th Edition covers the broad spectrum of laboratory procedures that veterinary technicians need to perform effectively in the practice setting. Comprehensive content presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform the most widely used tests such as complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. This thoroughly updated edition includes an expanded Quality Control and Record Keeping chapter along with the latest advances in veterinary clinical procedures to prepare you for real-life laboratory work. Comprehensive coverage gives you a solid foundation in the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform related tests. Provides the latest information needed to successfully perform a broad spectrum of laboratory tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. Step-by-step procedure boxes offer quick access to the skills you must perform during your educational program, as well as procedures that are commonly performed by vet techs in private practice. A comprehensive glossary of terms at the end of the text offers accurate, concise definitions.

Get the big picture on the vet tech’s role and responsibilities in large animal care!A practical, comprehensive guide, Large Animal Clinical Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition describes how to set up, assist, and follow through on medical procedures and treatment regimens for domestic livestock. The book begins with an overview of livestock handling, reproduction, and nutrition, along with the skills required in hospital management. Following are separate sections on horses, cattle, sheep and goats, llamas and alpacas, swine, and poultry, with each section including chapters examining husbandry, clinical and surgical procedures, and common diseases. Written by expert clinician and vet tech educator Kristin Holtgrew-Bohling, this text provides an ideal study tool in preparing for the VTNE® and for everyday practice.

Master all the animal care duties of a veterinary technician! McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses, 10th Edition provides a solid foundation in every aspect of veterinary technology, including care of small and large animals, birds, reptiles, and small mammals. Procedure boxes offer step-by-step guidelines to performing key tasks, and use of the veterinary technician practice model helps to improve your critical thinking and decision-making skills. Written by vet tech experts Joanna Bassert, Angela Beal, and Oreta Samples, this illustrated guide prepares you for success on the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE®) and in clinical practice. 2017 winner of the William Holmes McGuffey Longevity Award ("McGuffey") from the Text & Academic Authors Association (TAA), which recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time. Case presentations provide real-life scenarios, so students can practice critical thinking and decision-making skills. Step-by-step instructions show students how to perform dozens of procedures, making information easy to access in emergency and clinical situations.

Learn your own best method for mastering medical math with Practical Math for Veterinary Technicians. This student-focused, user-friendly guide has been created to meet the needs of today’s veterinary technology students and instructors. Written by experienced veterinary technician educators, this comprehensive textbook features math fundamentals, calculations, and conversions, as well as many examples and practice problems. The tone of this book is intended to speak to the student. Math can be intimidating; the textbook should not be.

Master the veterinary technician's role and skills in surgical assisting! Small Animal Surgical Nursing, 4th Edition helps you learn the protocols and techniques you need to work together with the veterinarian as a smoothly functioning surgical team. Clear guidelines are provided in areas such as surgical instruments and procedures, anesthesia, patient monitoring, preoperative and postoperative care of the animals, pain management, and client education. This edition is updated throughout and includes timed instrument identification exercises on the Evolve website. Written by well-known educator Marianne Tear, this comprehensive resource ensures that you are highly competent in performing all of the vet tech's surgical responsibilities. Coverage of small animal surgical nursing provides a full review of the role and responsibilities of the veterinary technician in the surgical setting, including sterilization, protocols, gowning, gloving, anesthesia, wound management, and care of the animals before and after surgery. Focus on exceptional clinical skills and practice tips draws from the author's real-world experiences of what is most commonly encountered in the clinical setting.

It's vital that everyone in your practice and other practices be able to read your patients medical records quickly and easily. This book's standardized abbreviations will help you improve accuracy, increase legibility, create consistency, and reduce the time spent writing. Updated and expanded, the third edition of Standard Abbreviations for Veterinary Medical Records contains more than 650 general medical abbreviations, plus a section with more than 100 imaging abbreviations. It also includes special sections for oncology drug protocols and grading systems for conditions such as heart failure and heart murmur.