Dual Enrollment: History 101- Western Civilization I

Ideal for students taking honors- and AP-level world history courses, this eBook allows readers to follow social collapse in world history from prehistory to the fall of Rome, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations. The volume begins with an introduction that outlines the major developments in chronological sequence, followed by chapters on Africa, Egypt, the Near East, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Greece, Rome, and the Americas.

Ideal for students taking honors- and AP-level world history courses, this eBook allows readers to follow the evolution of nomadic and pastoral societies in world history from prehistory to the fall of Rome, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations. The volume begins with an introduction that outlines the major developments in chronological sequence, followed by chapters on Africa, Egypt, the Near East, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Greece, Rome, and the Americas.

Encyclopedia of European Peoples is an A-to-Z reference to the peoples of Europe, from ancient to modern times, summarizing their origin, language, history, culture, and relationship to other peoples. This encyclopedia includes entries on all peoples that have at one time maintained a cultural identity. Thus, the reader will be able to find entries on the Gauls and Normans, but also an entry on the "French: nationality," that describes who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.

ncyclopedia of Ancient Rome, Third Edition provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome. Each entry has been thoroughly reviewed and updated to fully reflect recent advances in archaeology, historical and literary criticism, and social analysis. In addition, the scope has been expanded to include the entire history of ancient Rome, from the first founding of the city through the legendary hero Aeneas and his descendants Romulus and Remus around 753 BCE to the final collapse of Roman power in the fifth century CE. All of the entries in this updated resource now reflect not only the imperial era, but also the entire course of Roman history.

Praise for the previous edition:...written in a style that is easy to read and comprehend...a quality reference for students, lay scholars, and the general public...provides more depth and diversity than most similar single-volume works available today.--American Reference Books Annual...a very useful reference book.--The Muslim World Book ReviewAn expansive, well-balanced, and up-to-date collection...the organization of the volume lends itself to effortless exploration. Highly recommended for high-school and public libraries looking for up-to-date resources on Islam.--Booklist...well written, easy to understand...ideal for high school students, first-year college students, and a general audience. Recommended.--ChoiceBest of Reference, 2010--The New York Public LibraryEncyclopedia of Islam, Second Edition provides high school and junior college students, as well as laypeople, with everything they need to know about this religion.In more than 550 A-to-Z entries, this encyclopedic guide explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam. A chronology, a detailed bibliography, and photographs complete this timely resource.Entries include:Abbasid CaliphateAkbarAlmsgivingAnti-SemitismArab LeagueArabesqueArabian NightsYasir ArafatAyatollahBaha'i faithBazaarBedouinBirth control and family planningBosnia and HerzegovenaCalligraphyChristianity and IslamCinemaColonialismDhimmiEvil eyeFatwaFive PillarsHajjHamasGulbuddin HekmatyarIbn BattutaMalcolm XNames of GodOttoman DynastyPolitics and IslamJalal al-Din RumiSalman RushdieSufismUlamaUsama bin LadinWomen.

The elegant and elaborate civilization of the Aegean is described here in a style of amazing richness, informed throughout by sound scholarship. These people who lived so long in harmony and peace, who cultivated the arts with such a developed aesthetic sense, who finally passed so much of their heritage to ancient Greece, play an important part in history, while their civilization provides numerous striking similarities with contemporary religion, fashion, and sport.

This clear and comprehensive text covers the Middle Ages from the classical era to the late medieval period. Distinguished historian John Riddle provides a cogent analysis of the rulers, wars, and events--both natural and human--that defined the medieval era. Taking a broad geographical perspective, Riddle includes northern and eastern Europe, Byzantine civilization, and the Islamic states. Each, he convincingly shows, offered values and institutions--religious devotion, toleration and intolerance, laws, ways of thinking, and changing roles of women--that presaged modernity. In addition to traditional topics of pen, sword, and word, the author explores other driving forces such as science, religion, and technology in ways that previous textbooks have not. He also examines such often-overlooked issues as medieval gender roles and medicine and seminal events such as the crusades from the vantage point of both Muslims and eastern and western Christians. In addition to a thorough chronological narrative, the text offers humanizing features to engage students. Each chapter opens with a theme-setting vignette about the lives of ordinary and extraordinary people. The book also introduces students to key controversies and themes in historiography by featuring in each chapter a prominent medieval historian and how his or her ideas have shaped contemporary thinking about the Middle Ages. Richly illustrated with color plates, this lively, engaging book will immerse readers in the medieval world, an era that shaped the foundation for the modern world.

An encounter with the artistic heritage of Islam is characterized by two factors that make it very special: the vast dimension of the areas involved, from Spain to Central Asia as far as China - without forgetting the expansion to sub-Saharan Africa - and the continuation of the phenomenon during fourteen centuries of history. Is it possible to treat such a complex and multifaceted phenomenon as a single subject? The images that follow are an answer. Within the great variety of construction forms and materials, some constants stand out: for example, the attention focused on certain building types such as the mosque (in both its religious and non-religious functions), the madrasa (or koranic teaching institution) and the principal types of civic architecture such as public baths (hammam), markets (suk or bazaar) and caravanserais. These building types define the Muslim city and make it perfectly distinct and familiar, as such, at any latitude. Islam makes a strong distinction between public art (decidedly abstract) and private art where figurative art, far from disappearing, occupies a fully legitimate position with a vigour that is sometimes unexpected. The religious dictates - despite the fact that the Koran never explicitly refers to art - are linked to the rigid monotheistic credo and the inexhaustible creative activity of Allah, transformed into decorations that are often modular and are repeated without a beginning or an end. The most representative art is certainly calligraphy, with its numerous graphic variations, all of which have great visual impact. The ceramics with their extraordinary shapes and amazing range of colours, the metalwork with damascening of precious materials and an unequalled taste of subtle detail, the textiles with refined silks that almost constitute a separate art and the carpets, which although not a prerogative of Islam alone, do well illustrate its unending diversity, all form the portrait of a very rich artistic culture that is never monotonous.

Conventional wisdom holds that the theology and social ethics of the Reformed tradition stand at odds with concepts of natural law and the two kingdoms. This volume challenges that conventional wisdom through a study of Reformed social thought from the Reformation to the present.

The Oxford History of Byzantium is the only history to provide in concise form detailed coverage of Byzantium from its Roman beginnings to the fall of Constantinople and assimilation into the Turkish Empire. Lively essays and beautiful illustrations portray the emergence and development of adistinctive civilization, covering the period from the fourth century to the mid-fifteenth century. The authors - all working at the cutting edge of their particular fields - outline the political history of the Byzantine state and bring to life the evolution of a colourful culture.In AD 324, the Emperor Constantine the Great chose Byzantion, an ancient Greek colony at the mouth of the Thracian Bosphorous, as his imperial residence. He renamed the place 'Constaninopolis nova Roma', 'Constantinople, the new Rome' and the city (modern Istanbul) became the Eastern capital of thelater Roman empire. The new Rome outlived the old and Constantine's successors continued to regard themselves as the legitimate emperors of Rome, just as their subjects called themselves Romaioi, or Romans long after they had forgotten the Latin language. In the sixteenth century, Western humanistsgave this eastern Roman empire ruled from Constantinople the epithet 'Byzantine'.Against a backdrop of stories of emperors, intrigues, battles, and bishops, this Oxford History uncovers the hidden mechanisms - economic, social, and demographic - that underlay the history of events. The authors explore everyday life in cities and villages, manufacture and trade, machinery ofgovernment, the church as an instrument of state, minorities, education, literary activity, beliefs and superstitions, monasticism, iconoclasm, the rise of Islam, and the fusion with Western, or Latin, culture. Byzantium linked the ancient and modern worlds, shaping traditions and handing down toboth Eastern and Western civilization a vibrant legacy.

This engaging yet deeply informed work not only examines Roman history and the multitude of Roman achievements in rich and colorful detail but also delineates their crucial and lasting impact on Western civilization. Noted historian Carl J. Richard argues that although we Westerners are "all Greeks" in politics, science, philosophy, and literature and "all Hebrews" in morality and spirituality, it was the Romans who made us Greeks and Hebrews. As the author convincingly shows, from the Middle Ages on, most Westerners received Greek ideas from Roman sources. Similarly, when the Western world adopted the ethical monotheism of the Hebrews, it did so at the instigation of a Roman citizen named Paul, who took advantage of the peace, unity, stability, and roads of the empire to proselytize the previously pagan Gentiles, who quickly became a majority of the religion's adherents. Although the Roman government of the first century crucified Christ and persecuted Christians, Rome's fourth- and fifth-century leaders encouraged the spread of Christianity throughout the Western world. In addition to making original contributions to administration, law, engineering, and architecture, the Romans modified and often improved the ideas they assimilated. Without the Roman sense of social responsibility to temper the individualism of Hellenistic Greece, classical culture might have perished, and without the Roman masses to proselytize and the social and material conditions necessary to this evangelism, Christianity itself might not have survived.